Tags

,

I must say, the one thing I did not expect when I started this blog was that I’d have more to write about than I could get to in a once-weekly schedule. I thought I’d struggle to do any more than that, and gave myself permission to skip a week if I really didn’t have anything to write about.

Instead, I have five projects to write about, in varying stages of completion (three of them want little tweaks to be actual-facts done, but are wearable). In addition, I have some end-of-year posts that I want to write (ideally before the end of January…!), and I want to write a post about my stashed patterns.

Whew!

For this post, I want to write about the latest of the five projects, since that’s the one I have photos of. This is the green-and-brown rayon that was in pieces in my fabric post:

On Sunday I went to a vintage picnic with various other vintage fashion obsessed lasses from Melbourne, including Jacinta from Razzle Dazzle Rose, Gabrielle from Drama of Exile, Marianne from Esme in the Laneway, Clara Cupcakes, Eszter from Kitty’s Drawings, Edie from An Scenic World, Margeaux from no fixed digital abode, and my dear friend Jess from Deadish Darlings (which is not a fashion blog). I’d been vacillating about what to wear: my actually vintage collection is small, and it felt strange to wear one of my repro brand dresses like Heartbreaker. I have a 1920s dress I sewed for a birthday years ago, but I’ve worn that a few times to various events and that seemed far too humdrum. What I really wanted was for my rayon 1940s dress to be magically done so that I could wear that.

I went to Social Sewing on Saturday. I spent most of my time on the purple Ceylon (post to come as soon as I have some photos), and a little bit on beginning the rayon dress. Since I’d finished the green circle skirt that morning on the tram on the way, I was flushed with success and hopeful that a marathon sewing session on Saturday night would bring this about.

And, lucky me, it sort-of did. If “Saturday night” includes up to 1pm on Sunday as well. I’d like to finish my hems more prettily, but it’s more than wearable. Apologies for the darkness of the photos; I didn’t realise how late it was getting.

20130124-223234.jpg
This dress features lapped seams on gathering, which would probably have been a little intimidating if I hadn’t just sewn the Ceylon dress, which also features these.

20130124-223258.jpg
Side view! Look at those pretty front seams.

20130124-223321.jpg
This is the first time I’ve made thread loops. I’m glad I’d already seen a post on it in Gertie’s blog, since the extent of the instructions in the pattern was basically, “Make thread loops for buttons”. I guess they weren’t mucking around when they called it an advanced pattern. My button’s all pretty. It’s a vintage one that I got from one of the ladies at Social Sewing, but I’m afraid I don’t remember who.

I’ve realised that I haven’t really got a photo showing off my *BEAUTIFUL* lapped zip. It’s so pretty, it’s as though it isn’t there at all.

Otherwise, aside from misreading some pattern markings and needing to go back to the original pattern pieces to decode it, this dress was fairly straightforward and simple to put together. I guess my skills have been improving since I’ve been sewing more than one or two garments in the past few months. That’s reassuring.

So, the outcome? I love this dress. It’s funny, because I was mostly making it, I realised in hindsight, because I thought it was neat. I didn’t expect it to look so flattering on. The rayon has the most lovely drape, and it’s so soft against my skin.

The downside: I realised when I was three quarters of the way through that when I first cut this pattern out, three years ago, I cut one size too big. That’s why it’s a little baggier than it should be, and that’s why I’m wearing it with a belt.

So, would I make it again? Definitely. Especially if I can find another soft, drapey woven. But next time I’m cutting the next size down.

Finally: a couple of photos from the vintage picnic. Pro tip: if you’re going to use your phone to play music while you sew something at the last minute, make sure it’s fully charged before you leave for said event, or else you won’t have enough battery to capture the moment.

20130124-225821.jpg

The amazing spread, mostly prepared by Jacinta, who also arranged the whole shebang. Those professional-looking cupcakes are by Ellie/Clara Cupcakes (appropriately enough).

20130124-225836.jpg

Gabrielle and Jacinta. You can see more photos from the day at Gabrielle’s post on Drama of Exile and Jacinta’s post on Razzle Dazzle Rose.

